St. Patrick Catholic School

122 West Street, Portland, MI   (517) 647-7551

Reflections by Randy Hodge

School Board Recognition Month

Posted on January 16, 2019 at 10:15 AM

Nationwide, January has been designated as School Board Recognition Month. As citizen leaders of St. Patrick School, our board members face complex and demanding challenges. For those who may not be aware, the St. Patrick School Board is a Board of Limited Jurisdiction. With this set up, board members work closely with the administration and assist in the governance of the school. Diocesan policy states, “The Board of Directors shall have as its primary concern the ministry of Catholic education via strategic planning, formulation of policies relating to academic, student, and faith community affairs, and evaluation of policies and operations.” The school board has been proactive in these new responsibilities over the past four and half years. Boards of Limited Jurisdiction instead of traditional school boards are common in Catholic schools across the country.

Our 12-member school board is made up of current and past parents, community members, and alumni. Their work is completed within the following subcommittees:

• Executive Committee

• Mission Effectiveness Committee

• Policy and Strategic Planning Committee

• Finance, Building and Grounds Committee

• Marketing and Communications Committee

• Development, Admissions and Enrollment Committee

The current members of the board are: Mrs. Annalise Laumeyer, chair of the board and the Executive Committee. Mrs. Melissa Schrauben is the vice chair of the board and chairs the Development, Admissions and Enrollment Committee along with Mr. Michael Wolfston. Mrs. Nancy Wohlschied serves as the recording secretary. Mrs. Sue Vanlente and Mrs. Leslie Weller serve as the Marketing and Communications Committee chairs. Mr. Jeff Fedewa and Mrs. Heather Boyd chair the Finance, Building and Grounds Committee. Mrs. Jennifer Davlin and Mrs. Brandi Bengel serve as the chairs of the Mission Effectiveness Committee. Mrs. Lisa Bartlett and Mrs. Shayla Schneider serve as the chairs of the Policy and Strategic Planning Committee.

St. Patrick School has a professional board with members who bring a vast wealth of expertise to each meeting. We are very blessed to have a group of community members that are willing to bring their strengths, knowledge, insights and experience to help further the mission of our school.

The St. Patrick School Board meets approximately every six weeks and encourages the public to attend. Meetings begin with Mass at 6 p.m. and reconvene after Mass at 6:45 p.m. in the Parish Hall. The meeting dates for the remainder of the school year are:

• February 19

• April 23

• May 21

I would like to thank our school board members for their time, talent, and dedication. Their knowledge, enthusiasm, and leadership are a vital part of our school’s success. If you have questions, concerns, suggestions or if you’re interested in becoming a member of our school board or a subcommittee, please contact school board chairperson Annalise Laumeyer at We are looking for new board members beginning with next school year.

Additional information about the school board, including meeting minutes, can be found under the administration icon on our school website (

Categories: None

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

You must be a member to comment on this page. Sign In or Register